Proof of Coverage Compliance Guide-- Iowa

Last Revised: 7/1/09	
NCCI Proof of Coverage Start Date	7/1/09
State Contact Information	Iowa Division of Workers' Compensation 1000 East Grand Avenue Des Moines, IA 50319-0209 Contact Name: Janna Martin Tel: 515-281-4177 Fax: 515-281-6501 E-mail: janna.martin@iwd.iowa.gov
How NCCI Provides Data To State	POC Online Inquiry
Policies—Compliance Requirements	Statute does not mandate time frame. NCCI's recommendation: Due within 30 days after the Policy Effective Date.
Cancellation—Compliance Requirements	 All cancellations must be mailed to the employer and are due 30 days prior to the Cancellation Effective Date Nonpayment cancellations must be mailed to the employer and are due 10 days prior to the Cancellation Effective Date Notice of intention not to renew must be mailed or delivered at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the policy. Iowa is not a continuous-coverage state; Nonrenewal Cancellations are not required.
Reinstatements— Compliance Requirements	Statute does not mandate time frame. NCCI's recommendation: Due within 30 days after the Reinstatement Effective Date.
FEIN—Compliance Requirements	Statute does not mandate time frame. NCCI's recommendation: Required.
Fines—Compliance Requirements	No fines are assessed for late reporting or missing data.
Appeals—Compliance Requirements	No appeals process is in place, as no fines are assessed.