Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

FAQ: Time Limitations

Overview

There are multiple time limitations under Iowa workers' compensation law.

This page contains frequently asked questions (FAQ) about workers' compensation time limitations in Iowa.

Legal Advice

The FAQ pages are intended to provide general information about the Iowa workers' compensation system. For resources to help you get legal advice, click here.

Table of Contents

FAQ

Are there any time limitations?

Yes, there are multiple time limitations in the Iowa workers' compensation system.

Return to Table of Contents

How long does an injured worker have to give the employer notice of a work injury?

The employer must have notice or knowledge of an alleged work injury within 90 days of its occurrence.

The 90-day period begins to run when the employee knew, or should have known, the injury arose out of and in the course of employment.

If the employer does not have notice or knowledge of an alleged work injury within 90 days, benefits may be denied.

Return to Table of Contents

How long does an employer have to report a work injury to the agency?

An employer’s First Report of Injury (FROI) must be filed with the Iowa Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) when an employee alleges an injury arising out of and in the course of employment, which results in:

  • Time lost from work of more than three days;
  • Permanent injury; or
  • Death.

The employer must file with FROI with DWC within four days of notice or knowledge of such alleged injury. 

For more information about filing a FROI, click here.

Return to Table of Contents

If a worker has not been paid any disability benefits for a work injury, how long does the worker have to file a petition with the agency?

A worker who has not been paid any disability benefits for a work injury must file a petition with the agency within two years of the date of injury or benefits may be denied.

For more information about disability benefits, click here.

Return to Table of Contents

If a worker has been paid disability benefits benefits for a work injury, how long does the worker have to file a petition with the agency?

If a worker has been paid benefits for a work injury, the worker has three years from the last payment of weekly benefits to receive additional benefits or file an action with DWC.

If not filed within the three-year period, the benefits may be denied. This statute of limitation does not apply to medical expenses reasonably necessary to treat the injury.

For more information about disability benefits, click here.

Return to Table of Contents

Where can you find more information about benefits?

For more information about benefits, click here.

Return to Table of Contents

Where can you get legal advice about time limitations?

For resources to help you get legal advice, click here

Return to Table of Contents

More Info

For more information about workers' compensation in Iowa, click here.