Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know


The Iowa Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) is responsible for enforcing reporting requirements under Iowa law.

Legal Advice

DWC cannot provide legal advice or referrals to private attorneys because it is a neutral tribunal that decides workers' compensation disputes. You may contact an attorney to seek legal advice relating to your rights and responsibilities under Iowa law.

File a Report

All reports of injury or illness must be electronically filed on the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI).

Covered Entities

Employers, insurance carriers, and third party administrators must follow work comp reporting requirements.  An entity may be covered by Iowa work comp law if the entity:

  • Has employees who work in Iowa
  • Conducts business in Iowa
  • Is organized under Iowa law (e.g., Iowa corporations, partnerships, companies, sole proprietorships, etc.)
  • Adjusts Iowa workers' compensation claims

Types of Reports

First Report of Injury or Illness (FROI)

A FROI must be filed with the workers’ compensation commissioner’s office within 4 days after notice or knowledge of an alleged injury when the injury results in:

  • Temporary disability for a period longer than 3 days;
  • Permanent partial disability;
  • Permanent total disability; or
  • Death.

Filing a FROI does not admit liability. 

Subsequent Report of Injury or Illness (SROI)

If a FROI is required to be filed, one or more Subsequent Reports of Injury (SROI) must be filed subsequently on EDI. A SROI must be filed to reflect the current status of the claim, including:

  • Commencement of payment;
  • Rate calculation;
  • Payment report; and 
  • Denial.

The commencement of payment notice must be filed within 30 days of the first payment of weekly compensation benefits.

The employer, insurance carrier, or third party administrator must mail a final payment report to the employee at the employee’s last known address.

Medical Reports

Medical reports reflecting the return to work or recuperation date and the permanent impairment rating, if any, must be filed only if the claim involves disability in excess of 13 weeks or permanent disability.

These reports should be mailed or faxed directly to the Iowa Division of Workers’ Compensation with a completed Medical Report Transmittal Form.

Failure to Report

If an employer fails to provide information or file a required report, DWC may issue a demand letter giving the employer 30 days to comply. If the employer fails to comply, DWC may hold a hearing at which the employer must show good cause why the information was provided or report was not filed. Failure to show good cause or to comply may result in an assessment against the employer that DWC may enforce in district court. When a report is required and the employer's insurance carrier possesses the information necessary to file the report, the insurance carrier is responsible for doing so.

Right to Inspect

DWC has the right to inspect documents showing or reflecting in any way the amount of wages paid by an employer to get information necessary for the administration of Iowa workers' compensation law.


If you have a questions about reporting, you may contact a DWC compliance administrator. Compliance administrators are DWC staff tasked with neutrally enforcing reporting requirements under Iowa law. They do not represent any party to a work comp claim. They can provide information to help entities comply with reporting requirements under Iowa law.

If you email a compliance administrator or leave a voicemail, please include the following information:

  • Your first and last name;
  • Your phone number;
  • DWC file number (if known);
  • Employer's name; and
  • Employer's address.

Compliance administrators are assigned claims based on the last name of the employee alleging injury. You may email or call a DWC compliance administrator for assistance.